Pictured, left to right, front row: Matthew Beck, Hans and Toni Schierling, and Gabrielle Markiewicz. Back row: Angela Schiavo, Gabrielle Stauffer, Jade Shomper, Sister Angela Kim, IHM, and Jailyn Guzman.

New Endowed and Annual Scholarships Announced

Marywood University announced four new endowed scholarships, six new annual scholarships, and a new endowed special gift at the 2023 Scholarship Luncheon. The annual luncheon brought together students, donors, and esteemed guests to acknowledge the impact of scholarships and express heartfelt appreciation for their support.

Renée Gregori Zehel ’91, Ph.D. ’16, vice president for university advancement, opened the program by welcoming guests and recognizing this year’s scholarship honorees. Following lunch, Sister Mary Persico, IHM, Marywood University President, recognized the new scholarship benefactors and presented each of them with a citation. Student scholarship recipients also played a prominent role in the program, including Emily Gunsel ’23, who presented the invocation; Stephanie Golden ’22 (M.I.A. ’24), a graduate architecture student, who gave the keynote address, sharing her personal Marywood journey and expressing profound gratitude on behalf of all student scholarship recipients; and Eleanor Kloss ’26, who offered the benediction.

Marywood University remains dedicated to fostering a vibrant community of learners, where scholarships play an instrumental role in breaking barriers and creating opportunities. The Scholarship Luncheon serves as a testament to the university's commitment to ensuring access to quality education for deserving students, regardless of their financial circumstances.

Marywood awarded 389 named scholarships, exceeding one million dollars, in the 2022-2023 academic year. New endowed named scholarships can be established with a gift of $50,000 or more. New annual named scholarships can be established with a gift of $10,000 or more. For information on establishing a named scholarship, please contact the Office of University Advancement at 570-348-6238 or development@marywood.edu

Newly endowed scholarships include: 

The Anthony Corbo, Jennie Schiappa Corbo, and Lucille Corbo Endowed Scholarship, established by Gloria Corbo Davidow ’70, supports full-time undergraduates with preference to students majoring in music performance specializing in strings.

The Dr. Margery Morgan Lowens Endowed Scholarship, established by the Estate of Dr. Margery Morgan Lowens, supports full-time undergraduates with academic achievement and financial need.

The Angela & Pio Ferrario Scholarship for Physician Assistant Students, established by Pia Ferrario, supports full-time undergraduates and graduates in the Physician Assistant program

(Pre-Physician or M.S.).

The Donald R. Mathieu Aviation Endowed Scholarship, established by Hilda Faust Mathieu ’57 in honor of her late husband, supports undergraduates with a preference to students studying Aviation Management.

A newly established endowed special gift includes:
The Schierling Fund, established by Hans and Toni Schierling ’60, is a special gift that supports the Master of Social Work (MSW) Program, including scholarship support for MSW students and programmatic support for a visiting scholars program.

Newly established annual scholarships include:
The Mary Mchugh Donohoe ’27 Annual Scholarship, established by Mary Anna Donohoe, Esq. ’67 in honor of her mother, supports undergraduate students who demonstrate both academic achievement and financial need.

The George Michael and Jacquelyn Susco Fueshko Annual Scholarship, established by Jacquelyn Susco Fueshko ’76, M.S. ’80 and her husband, George Michael, supports full-time undergraduate students who major in accounting.

The Patrick J. Manley, Jr. and Lillian Manley Annual Scholarship, established by Catherine Harrington in honor of her late uncle, Patrick J. Manley, Jr., and her beloved aunt, Lillian Manley, supports full-time undergraduates, with first preference given to students who self-identify as Chinese origin and second preference to students of an underrepresented demographic Marywood population.

The Judge James M. and Dr. Kathleen P. Munley Scholarship, established by Kathleen Purcell Munley ’60, Ph.D., a Marywood professor emerita of history, also honors her late husband, The Honorable James M. Munley, Senior Federal District Court Judge, Middle District of Pennsylvania, and is given in both their names to support a junior majoring in History, History/Pre-Law, or Political Science with a 3.5+ GPA.

The Dr. José Enrique Reyes and Mrs. Alice Susco Reyes Scholarship, established by Alice Susco Reyes ’69, M.S. ’79 and her husband, José Reyes, Ph.D., both retired Marywood educators, to support full-time undergraduates, with preference given to students who self-identify as being part of the Hispanic community and with second preference given to members of an underrepresented demographic Marywood population.

The Robert and Bernetta Stahl Sheedy Annual Scholarship, established by Katherine Sheedy Weiss ’72 in memory of her loving parents, supports full-time undergraduates, with first preference given to Maxis Gillet Ambassadors majoring in Biology, Pre-PA, Nursing, Psychology, Nutrition & Dietetics, or Social Work, with second preference given to any students majoring in those same areas.